El lobito bueno – José Agustín Goytisolo

Érase una vez
un lobito bueno
al que maltrataban
todos los corderos.

Y había también
un príncipe malo,
una bruja hermosa
y un pirata honrado.

Todas estas cosas
había una vez.
Cuando yo soñaba
un mundo al revés.

Once there was
a good wolf
who was bullied
by all the lambs.

And there was
a bad prince,
a pretty witch
and an honest pirate.

All these things
once were found
when I dreamed a world
the other way round

I adore this poem, I won’t even try to conserve any of its beauty in the English translation because I am not a poet and wouldn’t know where to begin. Instead I’ve translated, as far as I am able, sense for sense, mostly at the expense of rhyme and rhythm.

If anyone would like to try a poetic translation I would love to read it in the comments!

felt-animal-gray-wolf-waldorf-toy_251_general

Leave a Reply

